Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Awards

The Seattle/King County Chapter of the National Football Foundation is one of more than 113 chapters throughout the country that honors student athletes. The foundation promotes amateur football at all levels, recognizing teams, coaches, officials, administrators and young men who excel both as players and students. The Seattle chapter represents 64 high school football programs throughout King and Kitsap Counties in Washington state.

Each year, the Seattle chapter awards scholarships to local Scholar-Athletes. The process begins at the end of the season when athletes are nominated by their coaches. Each school is represented by two players: a back and a lineman.

A selection committee consisting of former coaches, players and administrators then perform the difficult task of narrowing the list down to four backs and four linemen. At our annual Awards Ceremony, one back and one lineman receive a Scholar-Athlete Scholarship of $2000. Each of the remaining six finalists receive a scholarship of $500.

2014 - 49th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2013 - 48th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2012 - 47th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2011 - 46th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2010 - 45rd Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2009 - 44rd Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2008 - 43rd Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2007 - 42nd Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2006 - 41st Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2005 - 40th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2004 - 39th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
2003 - 38th Annual Scholar-Athlete Finalists and pictures
Complete list of Past Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

Tony Gasparovich Memorial Coach Award

This award is presented by the Seattle Chapter to a football supporter who exhibits love and dedication of the game, through their principals and leadership, with those they work with. A long time football coach and member of the Seattle Chapter, Tony Gasparovich embodied these attributes in his life.

This special award is presented only when someone has earned recognition for their outstanding work, as well as a demonstration of the Tony Gasparovich Award principles and leadership. The award is not presented annually.

Winners of the Tony Gasparovich Memorial Award

  • Marysville-Pilchuck High School and Oak Harbor High School, with special recognition to Coaches Brandon Carson and Jay Turner.
  • Roland "Red" Smith, Legendary Football Coach
  • Ed Lucero, Line Coach at Snohomish High School
  • Paul Lawrence, former coach at Everett High School and All State Game Director
  • Tom Merrill, former Coach Kennedy High School
  • John T. Fullerton, former Newport High School Coach
  • Craig Smith, Seattle Times Sports Reporter
  • Rollie Robbins, Football Coach
  • Terrry Ennis, Coach, Archbishop Murphy High School
  • Dee Hawkes, Coach, Bothel High School
  • Coach Jerry Parrish, Football Coach, North Kitsap High School
  • Coach David Lutes, Football Coach, Kentridge High School
  • Mike Lude, Athletic Director, University of Washington
  • Coach Ed Troxel, Football Coach, Kennewick High School
  • Coach Don James, Head Football Coach, University of Washington, Chapter Member
  • Coach Andrew Haynie, Football Coach, Tyee High School
  • Bruce King, Sports Anchor, KOMO News 4, Chapter Member
  • Dr. Dale Turner *, Author, Columnist, Religious Leader
  • Dr. Stan Coe, Veterinarian, Active Chapter Member
  • Don Shingler *, Businessman, Active Chapter Member
  • James E. “Jimmie” Cain, Referee, Chapter Member
  • Coach Tom Ingles, Football Coach, Kentwood High School
  • Coach Bob Jones, Football Coach, Auburn High School

* Deceased

E.R. "Rusty" Young Memorial Award

This award is presented by the Seattle Chapter of the National Football Foundation to an outstanding individual and/or corporation who exhibits undying commitment and dedication to the game through his contributions for the benefit of the scholar-athlete. Rusty Young was a Past President and long time member of the Seattle Chapter. His dedication to our foundation was an inspiration to all who knew him.

Winners of the E.R. "Rusty" Young Memorial Award

National Football Foundation Chapter Leadership Award

Each year, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) honors four dedicated individuals, one from each region, with the Chapter Leadership Award. This awards recognizes their commitment, generosity and leadership at the local level. The NFF Chapter Leadership Award winners have dedicated themselves to fulfilling the Foundation’s mission of promoting the game of amateur football and its benefits to America’s youth. From scholar-athlete banquets to youth coaching academies, each of these honorees leads a devoted effort to touch the lives of countless youth, high school and collegiate football players.

Local Winners of the Chapter Leadership Award


Home | Events | Coaching Academy | Play It Smart | Football Matters to Me | Awards/Scholarships | Hall Of Fame Inductees
Membership | Individual Donation | Booster Club Donation | Who We Are | Past Chapter Presidents | Sponsors | Contact Us

Copyright © 2003-2015 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame